Skip to main content


rolling hills

Sam Jones Named as Forty Under 40 Honoree

September 5, 2017

Sam Jones, attorney and vice president with Shuttleworth & Ingersoll, has been named to the CBJ’s Forty Under 40 class of 2017.

Samuel E. Jones, attorney and vice president with Shuttleworth & Ingersoll, has been selected as a 2017 honoree of the Corridor Business Journal’s Forty Under 40 awards. The annual awards recognize leaders who have made a significant impact in their business or community early in their careers. This is the thirteenth year these non-partisan, nonpolitical awards have been presented by the CBJ in Iowa’s Creative Corridor. At age 35, Sam is an accomplished attorney with an expertise in commercial litigation and construction law. He graduated with his J.D. from the University of Iowa College of Law with Distinction in 2008. Since then, Sam has developed a robust courtroom practice—his clients range from individuals and small businesses to multiple Fortune 50 Corporations. Jones is regularly invited to speak to other lawyers as an expert on business and construction disputes. His success as an attorney was recently recognized by his induction as a member of the Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers, an organization limited to 250 attorneys in the state. Sam volunteers his time and abilities in many ways, including as a board member for multiple nonprofit organizations: Chair of the Iowa Legal Aid Eastern Iowa Advisory BoardPresident of the Board for the Willis Dady Emergency ShelterIowa Landscape Architectural Examining Board Member, appointed by Governor BranstadLinn County Historical Society Board MemberCedar Rapids Museum of Art Board MemberIowa Bar Association Bridge the Gap CommitteeIn addition to his board service, Sam serves as a Best Buddy through the ARC of East Central Iowa and previously served as a volunteer coach for the Youth Metro Football Association. Sam is the eleventh Shuttleworth & Ingersoll attorney to be honored with this award since 2005. Samuel E. Jones (2017)William J. Daly (2016)Jason R. Sytsma (2015)Don L. Johnson (2014)Mark P.A. Hudson (2012)Brett D. Papendick (2010)Jace T. Bisgard (2009)Tricia L. Hoffman-Simanek (2008)Laurie L. Dawley (2007)Terri C. Davis (2006)Marty L. Stoll (2005)

Back to All Posts

This website uses cookies for analytics, personalization and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to our use of cookies.